Oh Orem! Owlz are Pioneer League Champions

Jay Brossman

It took 16 innings. Some eventful. Some not so special. In the end, the Orem Owlz defeated the Great Falls White Sox to claim the Pioneer League Championship.

Leading off the top of inning 16, Jay Brossman, who had been clutch for the club throughout the regular season, cracked his second homer of the postseason - the eventual game-winner.

The game could have been over so much sooner.

Owlz starter Jordan Walden worked eight masterful innings, giving up four hits, a walk, and an unearned run while striking out a career-high 10. He hit 99 MPH on the radar gun and toyed with the hitters throughout the evening.

Ryan Brasier came on in the ninth with a one-run lead but gave up a homer to the first batter he faced, forcing extra innings.

Mason Tobin surrendered a leadoff single to Salvador Sanchez in the 16th, but Jim Gallagher struck out and was called for batter's interference as Sanchez tried to steal second.

After Great Falls manager Chris Cron was ejected for arguing the call, Christian Marrero singled and Matt Inouye flied out to give the Owlz the title.

Jordan Towns pitched four scorelesss frames to earn the win.

Jeremy Moore threw out a runner at home plate in the 10th inning. Great Falls loaded the bases with no outs in the 11th before a double play and strikeout ended the threat.

Orem scored their only other runs in the seventh, getting a bases loaded ground out that scored two - thanks to an error.

InsideTheHalos.com Recommended Stories

Up Next

Orem Owlz southpaw pitcher Robert Fish and third baseman Jay Brossman, who were tabbed as Pioneer…


2 Fans online
    Join The Conversation